Study Guide@lith   Link to University Home Page

Linköping Institute of Technology

Link to University Home Page




LiU is organized in four faculties:

  • Institute of Technology
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Educational Sciences
The University Board is the highest decision-making body within the university, with an overall responsibility for budget and policies. The board consists of 13 members, including representatives of teachers, students and public interests, the latter members constituting the majority. The rector is an ex-officio member of the University Board..

The rector is the university's top executive official, appointed by the government. The rector's term of office is six years. The appointment of the rector is preceded by an extensive nomination procedure within the university, after which the University Board proposes a candidate. The rector is assisted by a pro-rector for academic affairs and a number of vice rectors (Swedish: vicerektor), appointed by the University Board. The vice rectors are responsible for specific areas of key importance to the university. At present, there are three vice rectors, who are responsible for:

  • Implementation of IT at the university
  • External relations
  • Quality assurance in education and other student related issues.
Rector is professor Helen Dannetun.


Faculty Board and Dean
(Fakultetsnämnd och dekanus)

The faculty is run by a faculty board, the chairman of which is the dean, who is elected by the teachers of the faculty. The board has ten members, of which five are teachers, two are representatives of the students and three represents public interests.

Dean is professor Ulf Nilsson and pro-dean is professor Lars Eldén.

The faculty office (Tekniska Fakultetskansliet, TFK) provides administrative support to the dean, the board and the special educational and research committees, regarding budgeting, information, international affairs, etc. The faculty office also manages the student councelling and the scheduling of teaching and examination.

Study Programmes, Programme Boards
/Utbildningsprogram, utbildningsnämnder/

LiTH offers many study programmes within science and engineering and related subject areas, leading to the Swedish equivalent of a Master of Science degree, Bachelor of Science degree with a major in Engineering or a Bachelor/Master in Science. The Institute also offers several Master Programmes encompassing two years. The language of instruction of these programmes is usually English. In Stockholm, at the Carl Malmsten Centre of Wood Technology and Design, five programmes devoted to Craft and Design are offered.

LiTH has a matrix organisation. The structure and content of each of the programmes at the Institute are decided upon and organized by a Board of Studies, having representatives of teachers, students, and professional interests. The chairman of the Board of Studies is a senior lecturer or professor.


The departments associated with LiTH develop and offer courses in close co-operation with the Boards of Studes.


Linköping Institute of Technology

Link to top of page

Contact: Faculty Office Administrator,
Last updated: 2011-10-10 06:15